To-Be Lists: The New To-Do Lists?

With 2011 kicking off, of course everyone has crafted their highly ambitious New Year’s Resolutions. For some, it may be working out regularly, or spending less money. For others, like myself, it could be blogging more.

This evening I was reading through my blog lines, and came across one that jumped out at me as a unique take on resolutions for the New Year. The post is from one of my favorite blogs, the Social Media Explorer titled My Social Media 2011 TO-BE Lists – What’s Yours? I thought that the TO-BE list was a refreshing approach.

To Do: I want to work out more

VS.

To Be: I want to be healthier

To me, from a PR perspective, this is an important distinction. When writing PR plans, the objective is always formed as a “To be..” statement. The entire plan is structured around this initial objective:  the strategy, tactics, etc..  As Angela Maiers points out in her post:

‘Being’ and ‘doing’ are inseparable aspects of the human condition and attention must be paid to both

I decided to take that to heart and develop my own Social Media To-Be List for 2011.

  1. To-Be active in the 2-way Twitter conversation by retweeting posts that I find interesting on a daily basis, tweeting back to those who reach out to me, and posting questions to other tweeters.
  2. To-Be engaged in the daily informational content that I read on my social networking sites by reposting news/blogs onto my Reddit lines, commenting on blog posts and on-line articles that I find interesting and uploading more video content to my Youtube site.
  3. To-Be creative in the content I share by posting different types of news articles on my facebook feed, and tweeting an array of different information- from politics to crafting- to display my diverse interests.

What do you think? What are some of your TO-BE objectives for 2011? Post a comment and let me know!

2 responses to “To-Be Lists: The New To-Do Lists?

  1. Y0u had me at the title.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention To-Be Lists: The New To-Do Lists? | Melissa’s PRagmatic Post -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

